Wolisi Jirga again fails to complete administrative board

Tuesday, 13 March 2018 03:24 Written by  Heart of Asia Read 62 times

None of candidates for the Wolesi Jirga second deputy speaker and secretary succeeded in winning the required number of votes on Monday when when the election went to the fourth round.
Amir Khan Yar, Delawar Imaq, Niamatullah Ghafari and Akbar Stanikzai were in the run for the second deputy speaker’s slot. Saleh Mohammad Saljooqi, NawabMangal and Helai Arshad were candidates for the secretary.
However, Amir Khan Yar received 86 votes, Niamatullah Ghafari 60 votes, Imaq 21 votes and Stanikzai 14 votes and none of them were able to complete 50+1 votes.
In yesterday’s session of the lower house, 206 lawmakers were present and each runner needed 104 votes to win. Speaker Abdur Rauf Ibrahimi said the top two candidates, Amir Khan Yar and Niamatullah Ghafari, for the second deputy speaker would contest Tuesday’s ballot.
The nominees for the secretary slot, Saljooqi received 83 votes, Mangal 36 and Irshad 54. All of them failed to reach the 50 plus one mark. Ibrahimi said the top two candidates, Saljooqi and HeliIrshad, would run for the secretary.
The Meshrano Jirga, or upper house, elected its administrative board on March 7. The Senate re-elected AlamEzidyar as first deputy chairman, Asif Seddiqi as second deputy chairman, Taib Atta as secretary and Faisal Same as deputy secretary.


Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.