Wolesi Jirga confirms 11 cabinet picks

Tuesday, 05 December 2017 03:18 Written by  Heart of Asia Read 91 times

Wolesi Jirga -- or lower house of parliament -- on Monday approved 11 ministers-designate except the nominee for the Ministry of Mines and Petroleum.


The government introduced 12 ministers-designate to the lower house for a vote of confidence on November 25. Each pick needed 113 votes for confirmation from the 225 lawmakers present.

Shahzad Gul Aryubi, nominee for communication and information technology ministry, secured 115 votes. Mustafa Mansoor, pick for economy ministry got 155 ballots.

Mohammad Shafiq Gul Agha Sherzai, minister-designate for border and tribal affairs, obtained 158 votes. Tariq Shah Bahrami, nominee for defense minister, bagged 141 votes.

Nasir Ahmad Durrani, nominee for agriculture, livestock and irrigation minister, won 144 votes, Mujib Rahman Karimi (rural rehabilitation and development) 129, Wais Ahmad Barmak nominee for interior ministry obtained 173 votes and Mohammad Hamid Tahmasi by getting 149 votes become minister of transport and civil aviation.

Dr. Najibullah Khwaja Omari, minister-designate for higher education, obtained 124 votes, Faizaullah Zaki (labor and social affairs) 126 and Eng. Yama Yari (public works) 156 votes.

However, minister-designate for mines and petroleum Nargis Nehan bagged only 107 votes. She failed to find her way to the cabinet.

Some of the ministries were led by acting officials for about one and a half a year. An acting minister cannot work legally for more than two months under the constitution.

Ministries of foreign affairs, education and information and culture are also headed by acting officials. The government is yet to introduce nominees for these portfolios.

Wolesi Jirga Speaker Abdur Rauf Ibrahimi asked the government to introduce cabinet picks for the remaining three ministries, as well as the Ministry of Mines and Petroleum.

President Ashraf Ghani has thanked MPs for giving trust vote to ministers-designate and wished success for new ministers in their future endeavors.


Last modified on Tuesday, 05 December 2017 03:20

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.